Categories
Blog Media Publications Research

Buddhism on 100 Pages for 100 Minutes

Hello everyone!

Are you also enjoying September with all its fall colors? I love it when the leaves start to turn yellow, orange, and red, but they still stay on the trees.

But on to the actual reason for this blog post: A few of you have inquired why I, as the creator of this network, do not write about my own Buddhism publications. Oops, you caught me. I have considered this query and appreciate the thoughtful reminder. At times, I will provide comments on some of my research papers and other written pieces. Here’s a simple reference to my small book, published in 2020 in the “100 Pages” series by Reclam, amidst the pandemic.

In this series, the publisher offers volumes on topics from history, culture and society that it considers topical and significant. I was pleased to find that Buddhism is one of these topics, according to the publisher, and agreed to the request to write about it. With a paperback format and a length of only 100 pages, the volumes are intended for quick reading: 100 pages for 100 minutes. The authors are encouraged to write in a narrative-essay style, taking a personal perspective rather than presenting a dull introduction. This is roughly what I have tried to do. In my approach as a scholar of religion, I address the common misconception that Buddhism is not a religion, but merely a way of life without principles or doctrines. Among other things, the book prompted an interview on INFOREL; here are the two links to it:

Part 1

Part 2

Let me know if you want to chat about the book or any other topic on our blog over an online coffee. In the meantime, we’ll be back with more info soon!

Cheers,
Almut